Psalm 119 – again

by QuietMom

Torah inside of the former Glockengasse synago...
Image via Wikipedia

The girls and I are reading through Psalm 119 at lunch, 25 or so verses every afternoon. If you ever wonder about God’s word having everlasting application to our lives, spend some time reading Psalm 119. It’s beautiful. Here is part of what we read today:

 97O how love I thy law! it is my meditation all the day.

 98Thou through thy commandments hast made me wiser than mine enemies: for they are ever with me.

 99I have more understanding than all my teachers: for thy testimonies are my meditation.

 100I understand more than the ancients, because I keep thy precepts.

 101I have refrained my feet from every evil way, that I might keep thy word.

 102I have not departed from thy judgments: for thou hast taught me. (Psalm 119:97-102, King James Version)

I have refrained my feet from every evil way – that I might keep they word. Good stuff that. Especially after listening to another sermon on Nehemiah this morning.

Nehemiah 13:30 (NASB) “Thus I purified them from everything foreign and appointed duties for the priests and the Levites, each in his task,”

Nehemiah called on the people of Israel to put away everything pagan/heathen. Everything. When I look at the culture, even of many bible believing Christians these days I see a lot more heathen/pagan stuff that’s accepted rather than put away. Unfortunately many believers want to “fit in” just a bit too much.

Psalm 4:3: But know that the LORD hath set apart him that is godly for himself: the LORD will hear when I call unto him.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
